Kathryn Bigelow To Win Best Director At Oscar 2010


Director Kathryn Bigelow on Sunday night was pronounced the Winner of Best Director Award in 2010 Academy Award for her directing in the American war thriller “The Hurt Locker”. With this victory, Kathryn Bigelow became the first female director in Oscar awards to win the prize. The ex-wife of James Cameron described her triumph as the moment of a lifetime and dedicated her award to the women and men in the military who risk their lives on a daily basis around the world.


Along with Kathryn Bigelow, other directors nominated in the Academy Award this year were James Cameron (for film “Avatar”), Quentin Tarantino (“Inglourious Basterds”), Lee Daniels (of “Precious”), and Jason Reitman (of “Up in the Air”).


“The Hurt Locker” was one of the most acclaimed films of 2009 which earned awards and honors from numerous organizations, festivals and groups. The film follows a United States Army Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) team during the Iraq War. The film was nominated with 9 awards including the Best Movie, Best Director, and was a powerful rival of “Avatar”- a 3D film of director James Cameron.


The ex-wife of James Cameron was the first female in the 82-year history to earn Hollywood’s top prize for filmmakers. She expressed her happiness after receiving the award and said that “Women’s struggle for equity is a constant struggle, so if this can be a beacon of light, then wonderful”.


“The Hurt Locker” became the most-Oscar-won film by winning six prizes including Best Director, Best Picture, Film Editing, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Best Directing.

Kathryn Bigelow is also the director of some other films such as Near Dark (1987), Point Break (1991), and the six-time Academy Award-winning The Hurt Locker (2008). She was the first woman to win the Directors Guild of America award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Motion Pictures, which she was awarded for “The Hurt Locker”.

Please follow us: